TTRPG Forum

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

TTRPG Wayback Machine: D&D 1981

By Jason Campbell

I started playing TTRPGs with the Moldvay edition of Dungeons & Dragons Basic (often called “the red book”) in the summer of 1981. We became obsessed with the game and soon moved on to Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (now known as “first edition”). I’d never seen or played a TTRPG before that, and since my only experience with games was with board games I had lots of misconceptions about things that we would now say “of course!”. 

Dungeons & Dragons Basic Rulebook

Some Misunderstandings With TTRPGs

My first DM was my friend Joe, who had played some D&D with older kids at summer camp, but he had never read the books. I had the Moldvay Basic book and had read it many times but was still confused. The first thing I had trouble understanding was: when we played one adventure after another, could you play the character from one adventure in the next adventure? It seems silly to even ask this now, but in the board games I’d played like Monopoly or Sorry! Each game session was completely separate from the previous ones. Nowhere in the D&D books did it specify that you could play the same character from session to session, so I thought character creation was just a part of each game session.

Even when we realized that you certainly could play the same character over and over, I didn’t understand that the treasure you got in one adventure would carry over to the following adventure. Again I thought that the treasure was something the “winner” got at the end of a session. 

Where Did Our Excitement for the Game Come From?